Honey Cake!

I don’t mean to gloat, but I have the recipe for the perfect spring cake. I should back track to say that about a year ago, while perusing Williams Sonoma I happened upon the most adorable cast iron cake pan. Since I’m usually a practical person, the $40 price tag seemed excessive and gimmicky.

But, anyone who knows me knows that I adore bees and honey…and cake.

So I was sold.

The thing is that besides how cute the little individual ‘combs’ of cake are, the recipe itself (that came with the pan) is beyond delicious. It’s chewy on the inside, slightly ‘crisp’ on the outside and the top layer is covered in honey glaze. I’ve made it many times and people go nuts for it.

I am very discerning with my sweets. Though I have a sweet tooth, admittedly, I’m not going to eat something if it’s not worth the calories. But that’s just me.

Trust me, this is worth it.

Honeycomb Pull-Apart Cake (from Williams Sonoma)

For the cake:
4 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla extract
½ tsp. almond extract
2 ½ cups cake flour
1 tsp. baking powder
¼ tsp. salt
16 Tbs. (2 sticks) unsalted butter
1 ½ cups granulated sugar
2/3 cup milk
½ cup ground almonds

For the honey glaze:
4 Tbs. unsalted butter
¼ cup firmly packed light brown sugar
½ cup honey
1 tsp. vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
2 Tbs. water

Have all of the ingredients at room temperature.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour the wells of the Honeycomb Pull-Apart Cake Plan, tap out excess flour.

To make the cake, in a small bowl, whisk together the eggs, vanilla extract and almond extract until blended. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

In a bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the flat beater, beat the butter on medium-high speed until light and creamy, about 3 minutes. Gradually add the granulated sugar and beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes, stopping the mixer occasionally to scrape down the sides of the bowl. Reduce the speed to medium, add the egg mixture and beat until well combined, about 1 minute.

Reduce the speed to low and add the flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with the milk and beating each addition until just incorporated. Stop the mixer occasionally to scrape the sides of the bowl. Do not over mix. Using the as rubber spatula, gently fold in the ground almonds. Transfer the batter to the prepared pan and smooth the top with the spatula. Gently tap the pan on the countertop to release any air bubbles.

Bake until the top of the cake is golden and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 35-40 minutes. Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let the cake cook in the pan for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, make the honey glaze: in a small saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter with the brown sugar, honey, vanilla and salt, stirring occasionally until the sugar is dissolved, 2 to 3 minutes. Add the water, bring the mixture to a simmer and simmer for 1 to 2 minutes. Remove from the heat and keep warm.

Gently tap the cake pan on a countertop, invert the cake onto a plate and turn the cake right side up. Drizzle honey glaze over entire top of the cake.

This is so delicious!!


Tagged , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Honey Cake!

  1. YUM! I’ll have to try this. :)

  2. Jessamine15 says:

    Oh!! I love that cake mold! I did a whole birthday party theme based on bees and honey (http://attemptsindomesticity.com/2012/02/20/bees-knees/). I tried out several honey cake recipes and hated them all so I went with black and yellow cupcakes. But I think I’m still going to have to try this recipe out because it looks awesome!

  3. Betsy says:

    I just had almost the exact same experience with the cake pan. I saws it in Williams Sonoma and asked my husband, “Can you think of any reason why I shouldn’t buy this adorable pan? Because I can’t think of a single one!”. However, it was on the sale rack and didn’t have the recipe with it. I am so thankful to find your posting with this recipe and am so excited to try it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

